About

Nicolas Boillot is an artist and researcher in digital art since 2001.
Franco-Swiss, he lives between Nice (F) and Berlin (D).
His work fall within four topics of the digital age:

- The critical perspective of the abundance of offline and online information flows (as intention)The critical perspective of the abundance of offline and online information flows (as intention)

Saturation and overinformation are favorite topics for artists before or after the Internet, especially with respect to the critical artistic remix. Two of Nicolas Boillot's first works deal with the criticism of television media, outside the Internet: The advertising lyre denounces the saturation of advertising information imposed by the vertical diffusion of the mass media and their importance at the heart of our daily lives. SamplTV tries to disrupt the attractiveness and the lack of reflection of the spectators in front of the surge of information delivered by the diffusers television. This critical posture also inhabits two other works related to the Internet. They seek to highlight the significant shift in the publication, consultation, archiving and exposure brought by the Internet. They are taking advantage of the unprecedented potentiality created by the inflation of content and their availability via constantly evolving broadcasting platforms. Thus, .urler is a work of Net Art whose very foundation is based on the saturation and the 'infobesity' present on the Web and on the ease of access to the media that are present. Similarly, Plagiairc questions the modes of consumption and appropriation of the content of others from a device that exploits the exponential amount of textual communications made and accumulated on the network IRC

- The collection (as intention and principle of creation)The collection (as intention and principle of creation)

. The interest for abundance, but also the fact that the principles of fragmentation and recomposition are at the heart of the remix practices, explain why the collection is so present in the work of Nicolas Boillot. The collection as artistic practice is here, a source of inspiration and materials (collection of objects, images, sounds, use of the collection potential of IRC, Google images and Internet Archive) and a source of creation (as a collector and curator, he groups, sorts, re-arranges according to an intention). His early works are based on personal recordings (everyday objects for Re-initialized space, images and sound recording from a place for The resonant mosaic, from television spots for The advertising lyre). Initially, this constitutes small collections, except in the case of The advertising lyre which required the capture of 250 slogans from the sound recording television. This type of long and tedious work of capture also marks an era; the transition to digital will greatly facilitate it. In two more of his works, the collection is simply inherent in the flow of selected media: the potential flow of the television program (SamplTV) or a movie (Spoiler) that will be exploited by the device and the user. On the other hand, the Internet allows him the constitution of considerable collections (80 000 sentences in French and English from IRC for Plagiairc). Or to delegate the constitution of the collection to content platforms (Google Images for .urler). But above all, it is the collection that is at the heart of the intention of these two works. They seek, in fact, to question, in the case of .urler, the effects of the absurdity and serendipity of our navigation in the 'infobesity' of the Web and in the case of Plagiairc, the way in which the textual data are used, collected, archived and made available on the Internet.

- The scrutiny of copyright (as intent)The scrutiny of copyright (as intent)

The question of copyright is at the heart of Nicolas Boillot's work. It is also closely associated with the principle of remix since the relationship to the original is essential. His first two works (Re-initialized space and The resonant mosaic) are based on materials of which he is the author. Spoiler uses a royalty-free movie. In doing so, it illustrates the contribution to the creation and the heritage role of online archival sites such as Internet archive. On the other hand, in his other works, the question of infringement of copyright is central. Either because it stems from a critical intention, the denunciation of the media in The advertising lyre and SamplTV, where the referential scope of the exhibited sound and images have been kept intact, and this, despite the fact that its contents are linked to an economic sphere where an Anglo-Saxon vision of copyright prevails. Or because it constitutes the very intention of the work, the work Plagiairc placing it at the center of the denunciation of the public and private use of our personal data. The question here is to ask from what criteria we can consider that a word still belongs to its author, according to the moral authorship right (droit moral) in French law. The artist here explicitly experiments with plagiarism and the limits of copyright, thus doubling the intrinsic questioning of the remix principle. In doing so, it raises the question of its trivialization which is at the heart of the evolution of practices related to Web 2.0. Because the culture of sharing operates to the detriment of the culture of property. Moreover, the specificity of his works also leads him to lose control of their broadcast and associated copyright. Be that as it may, he testifies here to the difficult double constraint thus imposed on the artist, the infringement of copyright also being an integral part of the principle of remix, in the sense of E. Navas. On another level, Nicolas Boillot has long been very sensitive to the intrusion of the "giants of the Web" (GAFAM) in our lives. This also explains why this question of copyright or its transgression is so important to him. The following figure shows the diversity of questions over his works. It also marks the place of the latest works Lambeaux, Loops and Wall trope developed during his research creation Ph.D.


- The relationship to time (as intention and principle of creation).The relationship to time (as intention and principle of creation).

The digital artwork breaks with the linear flow of time usually perceived and makes several temporalities coexist. And the digital artist "destabilizes and recomposes time - instantaneity, simultaneity, incompleteness - to the point of making it a perspective" (Sauvageot, A. et L'église, M., 1999) by creating the specific conditions of an interactive work. This creative time is very present in the work of Nicolas Boillot: the concept of circular time appears with The advertising lyre and is very developed then in SamplTV and .urler. For example, SamplTV brings simultaneously into play a triple temporality: the temporality of the television broadcast in real time; the cumulative and retroactive temporality of the fragments in motion, reinterpreted and replayed unceasingly by the artistic device; and the temporality of the flow of the superimposed fragments diffused in loop and refreshed during this circular time. Moreover, time can be the very intention of the work. This is the case of Spoiler who proposes an unusual possession of space and time by bringing into play two temporalities from the hijacking of the film Night of the Living Dead: the temporality of the "actual" film (the action in real time) and the temporality of the "spoiled" film (the action, ten minutes later). The artist invites the spect'actor to be the trigger of this trip to the future; then to be the "revealing body" of the future of the event lived in the present. Spoiler thus questions our desires for anticipation, the fact that being able to guess the future can solve certain questions, but also suddenly annihilate all the tension and the hope of the present. As we can see, the relation to the spectator's time is fully summoned, according to a co-creation mode. Interactivity is therefore at the heart of the relationship to the artist's time, and this, in most of his works. Because only, Re-initialized space and SamplTV can exist without the intervention of the spectator. All other works require interaction. His works also attenuate the vertical distance with the audience by referring to a familiar framework (advertising, mass media, popular content platform, triviality of chat on IRC) and by proposing simple interfaces, familiar or fun (lyre, microphone, mirror effect of the cut-out figure, etc.). Note that Plagiairc is a particular work. If as in The advertising lyre or .urler, the familiarity of the device (here, the computer and Facebook / Google), the triviality of the subject (here, the interpersonal communication in its simplest form: the instantaneous exchange, the phatic link) and the conditioning of the work to the action of the spectator deliberately intended Plagiairc to an uninitiated public, Plagiairc goes much further. It engages the public in its private space (at home, facing her computer, interacting with her own contacts). Finally, note that interactivity also depends on the types of interfaces used by the device. The interfaces of Nicolas Boillot are here relatively simple, even familiar; but, his works linked to the Internet also bring into play the interactions identified by Jean-Paul Fourmentraux in the works of Net art (Fourmentraux, J.P., 2008) : "the interactions of contribution" (.urler and Plagiairc) and "the interactions of alteraction" (Plagiairc) because here, "collective action in real time" is the heart of his artistic project.

Nicolas Boillot also places the question of the artistic device at the centre of his approach.The question of the artistic device.

In fact, "the artwork for the Internet no longer corresponds to the concept of a completed object, but is more a process, an open and interactive collective device" (Fourmentraux J.P., 2003) and "the partial loss of control and choice, this indiscriminate acceptance of the effects that result from the use of coercion, allows the artist to construct a way of "withdrawal", to which various articles define the content." (Corbel L., 2012). Thinking of digital creation is therefore equivalent to exhibiting the question of artistic devices, devices that "materialize constraint factors as much as they generate appropriations, interpretations and actions. ". Devices that "lead to no longer separate producers and recipients, constraints and resources, by considering all the material, technical or symbolic mediations that are at work and that participate in the coordination of creative activities. "(Fourmentraux J.P., 2010). This opens up many questions, for example, about the link between technical knowledge and creation; on the level of technical acculturation of the artist and on the organization of indispensable hybrid skills implemented by the artist with or without a creative collective; on the reconfiguration of the artist's profession; on the mobile and reconfigured status of the creator, author and viewer ...

His work focuses on the digital remix and its referential and critical potentialities. He confronts with the definition of remix by varying the medium used, the source material, the predominance of a sound, visual or textual form or the diversion practices, creating ‘selective’ or ‘reflexive’ remixes. During his Ph.D in research creation, three of his works push the limits of the remix allowed in favour of a remix ‘distanced’, with a purpose more experimental than critical. This work, in constant evolution, has been the subject of several residences (Chile, Spain, France, Quebec) and individual and collective exhibitions in many countries (Germany, England, Belgium, Brazil, Chile, China, Spain, France, Greece, Iran, Italy, Japan, Quebec, Switzerland, USA, Taiwan, Czech Republic).

Instagram / Twitter / Facebook / Vimeo
Ello / Tumblr / New Hive / Flickr / Tilde.town
Github / Gitlab / Google Scholar

Contact


Group exhibitions

 

2019 Fantoche festival 17, Give, Give, GIF!, Baden, Switzerland (upcoming)

2019 Framed - Kandid2, LaLaport, Yokohama, Japan

2019 Framed - Cenotaph, Poly Art Centre, Yiwu, China

2019 Framed - Sylphe, LaLaport, Yokohama, Japan

2019 Framed - Sylphe, Dong Gallery, Taipei, Taiwan

2019 Framed - Caldeira, LaLaport, Yokohama, Japan

2019 Framed - Palette, Dong Gallery, Taipei, Taiwan

2018 Framed - Kandid2, Dong Gallery, Taipei, Taiwan

2018 La nuit de la Roquette, Arles, France

2018 48h Neukölln, Berlin, Germany

2017 Improvisationskonzert, Leipzig, Germany

2017 The Bomb, OKK/Raum29 Gallery, Berlin, Germany

2017 Capital Lumière 1, Maison Victor Hugo, Besançon, France

2017 48h Neukölln, Berlin, Germany

2016 Micro-cinema of Attractions | GIF art imageries and creative techniques, Nicosia, Cyprus

2016 VIRAL ART - The New Imageries of GIF Culture, Bologna, Italy

2016 Fantoche festival 14, Baden, Switzerland

2016 Back To The Future, Papay Gyro Nights 2016, Hong Kong

2016 Video Capital 2016, Champlitte, France

2015 Transnumeriques Awards - Digital Art Festival Taipei Taipei, Taïwan

2015 Transnumériques 2015 - Biennale of digital cultures, Mons, Belgium

2015 Poétiques des flux, Le Tube, La Fabrique, University of Toulouse 2, Toulouse, France

2015 Fantoche festival 13, Baden, Switzerland

2015 Vidéoforme 2015 – 30e festival international d’arts numériques, Clermont-Ferrand, France

2015 Jiggling Golems / GIF art exhibition, Goethe-Institut Athen, Iris cinema, Circuits and Currents, Athens, Greece

2014 GifBites, Gray Area Art, San Francisco, U.S.A.

2014 Virtual relocation, Goethe-Institut, San Francisco, U.S.A.

2014 Fantoche festival 12, Kino Sterk, Baden, Switzerland

2014 GifBites, Bitrates, Shiraz, Iran

2014 I Five U, Cloaque.org 2nd Anniversary, Madrid, Spain

2013 Fach & Asendorf screening, PAF in Olomouc, Czech

2013 Video Capital 2013, Fresne-Saint-Mamès, France

2013 This is not a protest song.Ästhetische Interventionen jenseits des Immer-Gleichen, Berlin, Germany

2013 Festival Vision'R #8, Paris, France

2013 #UPLOAD, San Francisco, U.S.A.

2013 Diesel Reboot, Galerie Lafayette, Paris, France

2013 FILE 2013 - Electronic Language International Festival*, São Paulo, Brazil

2013 (n)on site, Km Temporaer, Berlin, Germany

2013 Festival Emergence, La Fabrique Culturelle, Toulouse, France

2013 Lieux dit, L'Appart, Poitiers, France

2013 DVD DEAD DROP Vol. 5, BEST OFcurated by Fach & Asendorf, Museum of Moving Image, New York, U.S.A.

2012 RE/Mixed Media Festival, Brooklyn Lyceum, New York, U.S.A.

2012 Géographies variables, La Chambre Blanche, Quebec city, Canada

2012 Born in 1987, The animated gif, The Photographers' Gallery, London, UK

2009 Norapolis VII, Les Trinitaires, Metz, France

2009 Spoiler, Mix'Art Myrys, Toulouse, France

2008 Norapolis VI, Les Trinitaires, Metz, France

2007 8th Video, Art and New Media Biennial of Santiago, Museo de Arte Contemporaneo, Santiago, Chile

2007 Les bourgeons numériques, The municipal theatre, Castres, France

2006 Le temps des appareils - Part 2, Le Cube, Issy Les Moulineaux, France

2006 Le temps des appareils, Faux-Mouvement, Metz, France

2006 25th Viper : International Film, Video & New Media Festival, [plug.in] gallery, Basel, Switzerland

2005 Symbiosis : Zones of Contact, Luarca, Spain

2005 Dipsomania, Les abattoirs - Toulouse, France


Individual exhibitions

 

2017 Remixs, Metaxu galery, Toulon, France

2013 ORi Galerie, Berlin, Germany

2013 L'Appart, Poitiers, France

2013 Bato Fou, Plaine des Cafres, La Réunion

2012 Espace culture multimedia La Gare, Coustellet, France

2012 Le Hublot, Nice, France

2010 La Chambre Blanche, Quebec city, Canada

2009 Espace culture multimedia La Gare, Coustellet, France

2009 La Bande Video, Quebec city, Canada


Online exhibitions

2013 Gif Wrapping, Internet

2013 Update Statut / The Wrong Biennal, Internet

2012 Abécédaire du Web, Laboratoire NT2 (UQAM), Montréal, Canada

2012 Fach & Asendorf Gallery, Internet, Stuttgart, Kassel, Allemagne

2007 Transmediale.07 / TM20 / Web-based Entries, Akademie der Künste, Berlin, Allemagne

2006 Art Tech Media, Presidencia Gobierno de Canarias, Tenerife | Museo de Arte Contemporáneo Unión Fenosa - MACUF, A Coruña | Museo Vasco Artium, Vitoria | Museo Da2, Salamanca | Centro Párraga, Murcia | BilbaoArte, Bilbao | Casa Asia, Barcelona | CCCB, Barcelona | Museo Nacional Centro de Arte Reina Sofía, Madrid, Espagne


Residencies

 

2013 L'Appart, Poitiers, France

2010 La Chambre blanche, Quebec city, Canada

2009 Espace culture multimedia La Gare, Coustelet, France

2009 La Bande Video, Quebec city, Canada

2007 Museo de Arte Contemporaneo, Santiago, Chile


Qualifications

 

2016 Doctor in visual studies (18e section - Art), LARA (Laboratoire de Recherche en Audiovisuel) - University of Toulouse II Jean Jaures, Ecole supérieure en audiovisuel, Toulouse, France (2011-2016)

2004 Master Degree in Digital Arts (D.E.A.) - University of Poitiers/La Rochelle - Art School of Poitiers / Angoulême, France (2003-2004)

2003 National Superior Art School Diploma (D.N.S.E.P.) - option Art - Art School of Aix en Provence, France (2001-2003)

2001 National Art School Diploma (D.N.A.P.) - option Art - Art School of Montpellier, France (1998-2001)


Publications, conferences and workshops

 

2016 The implications of remix in the art field within the digital dematerialization era., Ph.D research thesis, University of Toulouse II Jean Jaures, Ecole supérieure en audiovisuel, Toulouse, France

2013 Le phénomène d’émergence, principes, tensions et enjeux, dans les œuvres de remix réflexif, Scientific conference, Les processus de création comme phénoménes d’émergence, Université de Toulouse 2 Jean Jaures, Toulouse, France

2012 Pratiques appropriatives et plaisirs des artistes numériques : l’exemple des remix multimédias, Scientific conference, Ludovia 2012, Ax les Thermes, France

2009-2013 Intervention on digital interactive video. ITIN, Cergy Pontoise, France

2007 Workshop with art and virtual reality students on the creation of interactive projects and real time installations with EyesWeb. ITIN / National Art school of Cergy Pontoise, Cergy Pontoise, France

2004 The attractiveness of television and its manipulation by interactive interfaces.
Master Degree research thesis, University of Poitiers/La Rochelle - Art School of Poitiers / Angoulême, France

2004 Seminar Explore the memory : Art / Cognition / Technology / Handicap, Cypres Association - Marseille, France

À propos

Nicolas Boillot est artiste et chercheur en art numérique depuis 2001.
Franco-suisse, il vit entre Nice (F) et Berlin (D).
Son œuvre s’inscrit dans quatre problématiques de l’ère numérique :

- La mise en perspective critique de l’abondance des flux informationnels hors et sur le réseau Internet (comme intention)La mise en perspective critique de l’abondance des flux informationnels hors et sur le réseau Internet.

La saturation et la surinformation sont des sujets de prédilection des artistes avant ou après Internet, notamment en ce qui concerne le remix artistique à portée critique. Deux des premières œuvres de Nicolas Boillot portent sur la critique des médias télévisuels, hors Internet : La lyre publicitaire dénonce la saturation d’informations publicitaires imposées par la diffusion verticale des médias de masse et leur prégnance au cœur de notre quotidien. SamplTV tente de perturber l’attractivité et le manque de réflexion des spectateurs face au déferlement d’informations délivrées par les diffuseurs télévisuels. Cette posture critique habite aussi deux autres œuvres liées à Internet. Elles cherchent à mettre en avant la révolution de la publication, de la consultation, de l’archivage et de l’exposition apportée par Internet. Elles se saisissent de la capacité de création sans précédent apportée par l’inflation de contenus et leur mise à disposition via des plateformes de diffusion en évolution permanente. Ainsi, .urler est une œuvre de Net Art dont le fondement même s’appuie sur la saturation et l’infobésité présents sur le Web et sur la facilité d’accès aux médias qui y sont présents. De même, Plagiairc questionne les modes de consommation et d’appropriation du contenu d’autrui à partir d’un dispositif qui exploite la quantité exponentielle de communications textuelles réalisées et accumulées sur le réseau I.R.C.

- La collection (comme intention et principe de création)La collection et la curation comme intention et comme processus de création.

L’attrait pour l’abondance, mais aussi le fait que les principes de fragmentation et de recomposition soient au cœur des pratiques du remix, expliquent pourquoi la collection est si présente dans le travail de Nicolas Boillot. La collection comme pratique artistique est ici source d’inspiration et de matériaux (collecte d’objets, d’images, de sons ; usage du potentiel de collection d’I.R.C., de Google images et d’Internet Archive) et source de création (artiste collectionneur et curateur, il regroupe, trie, ré-agence en fonction d’une intention). Ses premières œuvres reposent sur des captations personnelles (prise de vue d’objet du quotidien pour L’espace réinitialisable ; images et enregistrement sonore à partir d’un lieu pour La mosaïque sonore ; à partir de spots télévisuels pour La lyre publicitaire). Au départ, cela constitue de petites collections, sauf dans le cas de La lyre publicitaire qui a exigé la captation de 250 slogans à partir de l’enregistrement du son télévisuel. Ce type de travail long et fastidieux de captation marque aussi une époque ; le passage au numérique le facilitera grandement. Dans deux autres de ses œuvres, la collection est simplement inhérente au flux des médias choisis : le flux potentiel de l’émission télévisuelle (SamplTV) ou du film (Spoiler) qui sera exploité par le dispositif et l’utilisateur. En revanche, Internet lui permet la constitution de collections considérables (80 000 phrases en français et en anglais issues d’I.R.C., pour Plagiairc). Ou encore de déléguer la constitution de la collection à des plateformes de contenus (Google Images pour .urler). Mais surtout, c’est la collection qui est au cœur de l’intention de ces deux œuvres. Elles cherchent, en effet, à questionner, dans le cas d’.urler, les effets d’absurdité et de sérendipité de nos navigations dans l’infobésité du Web et dans le cas de Plagiairc, la façon dont sont utilisées les données d’autrui collectées, archivées et mises à disposition sur Internet.

- La mise en jeu du droit d’auteur (comme intention)La mise en jeu du droit d’auteur.

La question du droit d’auteur est au cœur du travail de Nicolas Boillot. Elle est aussi étroitement associée au principe du remix puisque le rapport à l’original y est essentiel. Ses deux premières œuvres (L’espace réinitialisable et La mosaïque sonore) reposent sur des matériaux dont il est l’auteur. Spoiler utilise un film libre de droits. Ce faisant, cela illustre l’apport pour la création et le rôle patrimonial des sites d’archivage en ligne comme Internet archive. En revanche, dans ses autres œuvres, la question de la transgression du droit d’auteur est centrale. Soit parce qu’elle découle d’une intention critique, la dénonciation des médias de La lyre publicitaire et de SamplTV exigeant d’exhiber les sons et les images médiatiques et de garder intacte leur portée référentielle, et ce, malgré le fait que ses contenus soient liés à une sphère économique où prévaut une vision anglo-saxonne du droit d’auteur. Soit parce qu’elle constitue l’intention même de l’œuvre, Plagiairc la plaçant au centre de la dénonciation de l’usage public et privé de nos données personnelles. Il s’agit ici de se demander à partir de quels critères on peut considérer qu’un mot appartient encore à son auteur, selon la vision morale du droit français. L’artiste expérimente ici explicitement le plagiat et les limites du droit d’auteur, doublant ainsi le questionnement intrinsèque au principe du remix. Ce faisant, il pose la question de sa banalisation qui est au cœur de l’évolution des pratiques liées au Web 2.0. Car la culture du partage opère au détriment de la culture de la propriété. D’ailleurs, la spécificité de ses œuvres le conduit aussi à perdre la maîtrise de leur diffusion et du droit d’auteur associé. Quoi qu’il en soit, il témoigne ici de la difficile double contrainte imposée ainsi à l’artiste, la transgression du droit d’auteur faisant aussi partie intégrante du principe du remix, au sens de E. Navas (2013). Sur un autre plan, Nicolas Boillot est depuis longtemps très sensible à l’intrusion des « géants du Web » (GAFAM) dans notre vie. Ce qui explique aussi pourquoi cette question du droit d’auteur ou de sa transgression lui importe tant. La figure suivante reprend la diversité des questionnements au fil de ses œuvres. Elle repère aussi la place des dernières œuvres Lambeaux, Loops et Wall trope élaborées lors de son doctorat de recherche création.


- Le rapport au temps (comme intention et principe de création).Le rapport au temps comme intention, en lien avec le principe d’interactivité.

L’œuvre numérique rompt avec l’écoulement linéaire du temps habituellement perçu et fait coexister plusieurs temporalités. Et l’artiste numérique « déstabilise et recompose le temps – instantanéité, simultanéité, inachèvement - au point d’en faire une perspective » (Sauvageot, A. et L'église, M., 1999) en créant les conditions singulières d’une œuvre interactive. Ce temps créateur est très présent dans le travail de Nicolas Boillot : la notion de temps circulaire apparaît dès La lyre publicitaire et est très développée ensuite dans SamplTV et .urler. Par exemple, SamplTV met en jeu simultanément une triple temporalité : la temporalité de l’émission télévisuelle en temps réel ; la temporalité cumulative et rétroactive des fragments en mouvement, réinterprétés et rejoués sans cesse par le dispositif ; et la temporalité de l’écoulement des fragments superposés diffusés en boucle et rafraîchis au fil de ce temps circulaire. Par ailleurs, le temps peut être l’intention même de l’œuvre. C’est le cas de Spoiler qui propose une inhabituelle possession de l’espace et du temps par la mise en jeu de deux temporalités à partir du détournement du film La nuit des morts-vivants : la temporalité du film « actuel » (l’action en temps réel) et la temporalité du film « spoilé » (l’action, dix minutes plus tard). L’artiste invite le spect’acteur à être d’abord l’élément déclencheur du voyage dans le futur ; puis le « corps révélateur » du futur de l’événement vécu au présent. Spoiler interroge ainsi nos désirs d’anticipation, le fait de pouvoir deviner le futur pouvant résoudre certaines interrogations, mais aussi soudain annihiler toute la tension et l’espoir du présent. On le voit, le rapport au temps du spectateur est pleinement convoqué, et ce, selon le mode de la co-création. L’interactivité est donc au cœur du rapport au temps de l’artiste, et ce, dans la plupart de ses œuvres. Car seules, L’espace réinitialisable et SamplTV peuvent exister sans l’intervention du spectateur. Toutes les autres œuvres nécessitent une interaction. Ses œuvres atténuent aussi la distance verticale avec le public en renvoyant à un référentiel familier (publicité, média de masse, plateforme de contenu populaire, trivialité des propos des clavardages sur I.R.C.) et en proposant des interfaces simples, familières ou ludiques (lyre, microphone, effet miroir de la silhouette détourée, etc.). Soulignons que Plagiairc est une œuvre particulière. Si comme dans La lyre publicitaire ou .urler, la familiarité du dispositif (ici, l’ordinateur et Facebook/Google), la trivialité du propos (ici, la communication interpersonnelle dans sa forme la plus simple : l’échange instantané, le lien phatique) et le conditionnement de l’œuvre à l’action du spectateur destinent délibérément Plagiairc à un public non-initié, Plagiairc va beaucoup plus loin. Elle engage le public dans son espace privé (à domicile, face à son ordinateur, en interagissant avec ses propres contacts). Enfin, notons que l’interactivité dépend aussi des types d’interfaces utilisées par le dispositif. Les interfaces de Nicolas Boillot sont ici relativement simples, voire familières ; mais, ses œuvres liées à Internet mettent aussi en jeu les interactions repérées par Jean-Paul Fourmentraux dans les œuvres de Net art (Fourmentraux, J.P., 2008) :  les interactions de contribution (.urler et Plagiairc) et « les interactions d’alteraction » (Plagiairc), car ici, c’est « l’action collective en temps réel » qui compose le cœur de son projet artistique.

Nicolas Boillot place aussi au centre de sa réflexion la question du dispositif.Le dispositif.

De fait, « l’œuvre d’art pour Internet ne correspond plus au concept d’objet achevé, mais s’inscrit davantage comme un processus, un dispositif collectif ouvert et interactif » (Fourmentraux J.P., 2003) et « la perte partielle de contrôle et de choix, cette acceptation sans distinction des effets qui découlent du recours à la contrainte, permet à l’artiste de construire une manière de “retrait”, dont les différents articles définissent la teneur. » (Corbel L., 2012). Penser la création numérique revient donc à exhiber la question des dispositifs, des dispositifs qui « matérialisent des facteurs de contraintes autant qu’ils génèrent des appropriations, interprétations et actions. ». Des dispositifs qui « conduisent à ne plus séparer producteurs et destinataires, contraintes et ressources, en envisageant l’ensemble des médiations matérielles, techniques ou symboliques, qui y sont à l’œuvre et qui participent à la coordination des activités de création. » (Fourmentraux J.P., 2010). Ceci ouvre à de nombreuses questions, par exemple, sur l’articulation entre savoir technique et création ; sur le niveau d’acculturation technique de l’artiste et sur l’organisation des indispensables compétences hybrides mises en œuvre par l’artiste avec ou sans un collectif de création ; sur la reconfiguration du métier d’artiste ; sur le statut mobile et reconfiguré du créateur, de l’auteur et du spectateur…

Son travail porte majoritairement sur le remix numérique et ses potentialités référentielles et critiques. Il se confronte avec la définition du remix en faisant varier le médium utilisé, le matériau source, la prédominance d’une forme sonore, visuelle ou textuelle ou encore les pratiques de détournement, créant des remix « sélectif » ou « réflexif ». Lors de son doctorat de recherche création, trois de ses œuvres repoussent les limites admises du remix au profit d’un remix « distancié », à la finalité plus expérimentale que critique. Ce travail, en constante évolution, a fait l’objet de plusieurs résidences (Chili, Espagne, France, Québec) et d’expositions individuelles et collectives dans de nombreux pays (Allemagne, Angleterre, Belgique, Brésil, Chili, Chine, Espagne, France, Grèce, Iran, Italie, Japon, Québec, Suisse, USA, Taiwan, Tchéquie).

Instagram / Twitter / Facebook / Vimeo
Ello / Tumblr / New Hive / Flickr / Tilde.town
Github / Gitlab / Google Scholar

Contact


Expositions collectives

 

2019 Framed - Caldeira, LaLaport, Yokohama, Japon

2019 Framed - Palette, Dong Gallery, Taipei, Taiwan

2018 Framed - Kandid2, Dong Gallery, Taipei, Taiwan 

2018 La nuit de la Roquette, Arles, France

2018 48h Neukölln, Berlin, Allemagne 

2017 Improvisationskonzert, Leipzig, Allemagne

2017 The Bomb, OKK/Raum29 Gallery, Berlin, Allemagne

2017 Capital Lumière 1, Maison Victor Hugo, Besançon, France

2017 48h Neukölln, Berlin, Allemagne

2016 Micro-cinema of Attractions | GIF art imageries and creative techniques, Nicosia, Chypre

2016 VIRAL ART - The New Imageries of GIF Culture, Bologne, Italie

2016 Fantoche festival 14, Baden, Suisse

2016 Back To The Future, Papay Gyro Nights 2016, Hong Kong

2016 Video Capital 2016, Champlitte, France

2015 Transnumeriques Awards - Digital Art Festival Taipei Taipei, Taïwan

2015 Transnumériques 2015 - Biennale des cultures numériques, Mons, Belgique

2015 Poétiques des flux, Le Tube, La Fabrique, Université de Toulouse 2, Toulouse, France

2015 Fantoche festival 13, Baden, Suisse

2015 Vidéoforme 2015 – 30e festival international d’arts numériques, Clermont-Ferrand, France

2015  Jiggling Golems / GIF art exhibition, Goethe-Institut Athen, Iris cinema, Circuits and Currents, Athènes, Grèce

2014 GifBites, Gray Area Art, San Francisco, U.S.A.

2014 Virtual relocation, Goethe-Institut, San Francisco, U.S.A.

2014 Fantoche festival 12, Kino Sterk, Baden, Suisse

2014 GifBites, Bitrates, Shiraz, Iran

2014 I Five U, Cloaque.org 2ème anniversaire, Madrid, Espagne

2013 Fach & Asendorf screening, PAF in Olomouc, Tchèquie

2013 Video Capital 2013, Fresne-Saint-Mamès, France

2013 This is not a protest song. Ästhetische Interventionen jenseits des Immer-Gleichen, Berlin, Allemagne

2013 Festival Vision'R #8, Paris, France

2013 #UPLOAD, San Francisco, U.S.A.

2013 Diesel Reboot, Galerie Lafayette, Paris, France

2013 FILE 2013 - Electronic Language International Festival, São Paulo, Brésil

2013 (n)on site, Km Temporaer, Berlin, Allemagne

2013 Festival Emergence, La Fabrique Culturelle, Toulouse, France

2013 Lieux dit, L'Appart, Poitiers, France

2013 DVD DEAD DROP Vol. 5, BEST OF curated by Fach & Asendorf, Museum of Moving Image, New York, U.S.A.

2012 RE/Mixed Media Festival, Brooklyn Lyceum, New York, U.S.A.

2012 Géographies variables, La Chambre Blanche, Québec, Canada

2012 Born in 1987, The animated gif, The Photographers' Gallery, Londres, Angleterre

2009 Norapolis VII, Les Trinitaires, Metz, France

2009 Spoiler, Mix'Art Myrys, Toulouse, France

2008 Norapolis VI, Les Trinitaires, Metz, France

2007 8ème biennale de vidéo, d'art et de nouveau média de Santiago, Museo de Arte Contemporaneo, Santiago, Chili

2007 Les bourgeons numériques, Théâtre municipal, Castres, France

2006 Le temps des appareils - Part 2, Le Cube, Issy Les Moulineaux, France

2006 Le temps des appareils, Faux-Mouvement, Metz, France

2006 25th Viper : International Film, Video & New Media Festival, Galerie [plug.in], Bale, Suisse

2005 Symbiosis : Zones of Contact, Luarca, Espagne

2005 Dipsomania, Les abattoirs - Toulouse, France


Expositions individuelles

 

2017 Remixs, Galerie Metaxu, Toulon, France

2013 ORi Galerie, Berlin, Allemagne

2013 L'Appart, Poitiers, France

2013 Bato Fou, Plaine des Cafres, La Réunion

2012 Espace culture multimedia La Gare, Coustellet, France

2012 Le Hublot, Nice, France

2010 La Chambre Blanche, Québec, Canada

2009 Espace culture multimedia La Gare, Coustellet, France

2009 La Bande Video, Québec, Canada


Expositions en ligne

 

2013 Gif Wrapping, Internet

2013 Update Statut / The Wrong Biennal, Internet

2012 Abécédaire du Web, Laboratoire NT2 (UQAM), Montréal, Canada

2012 Fach & Asendorf Gallery, Internet, Stuttgart, Kassel, Allemagne

2007 Transmediale.07 / TM20 / Web-based Entries, Akademie der Künste, Berlin, Allemagne

2006 Art Tech Media, Presidencia Gobierno de Canarias, Tenerife | Museo de Arte Contemporáneo Unión Fenosa - MACUF, A Coruña | Museo Vasco Artium, Vitoria | Museo Da2, Salamanca | Centro Párraga, Murcia | BilbaoArte, Bilbao | Casa Asia, Barcelona | CCCB, Barcelona | Museo Nacional Centro de Arte Reina Sofía, Madrid, Espagne


Résidences

 

2013 L'Appart, Poitiers, France

2010 La Chambre blanche, Québec, Canada

2009 Espace culture multimedia La Gare, Coustelet, France

2009 La Bande Video, Québec, Canada

2007 Museo de Arte Contemporaneo, Santiago, Chili


Diplômes

 

2016 Docteur en études audiovisuelles (18e section - Art), LARA (Laboratoire de Recherche en Audiovisuel) - Université de Toulouse II Jean Jaures, École supérieure en audiovisuel, Toulouse, France (2011-2016)

2004 Diplôme d’Étude Approfondie en Arts Numériques - Université de Poitiers/La Rochelle - École Supérieure de l’Image de Poitiers et Angoulême, France (2003-2004)

2003 Diplôme National Supérieur d’Expression Plastique (option Art) (D.N.S.E.P.) - École Supérieure d'Art d'Aix-en-Provence (2001-2003)
 

2001 Diplôme National d’Art Plastique (option Art) (D.N.A.P.) - École Supérieure des Beaux-Arts de Montpellier, France (1998-2001)


Publications, conférences et workshops

 

2016 Les implications du remix dans la création plastique à l’ère de la dématérialisation numérique. Mémoire de doctorat, Université de Toulouse II Jean Jaures, École supérieure en audiovisuel, Toulouse, France

2013 Le phénomène d’émergence, principes, tensions et enjeux, dans les œuvres de remix réflexif, Colloque scientifique, Les processus de création comme phénoménes d’émergence, Université de Toulouse 2 Jean Jaures, Toulouse, France

2012 Pratiques appropriatives et plaisirs des artistes numériques : l’exemple des remix multimédias, Colloque scientifique, Ludovia 2012, Ax les Thermes, France

2009-2013 Intervention sur la vidéo numérique interactive. ITIN, Cergy Pontoise, France

2007 Workshop avec des étudiants d’art et de réalité virtuelle sur la création de projets interactifs et d’installations en temps réel avec EyesWeb. ITIN / Ecole nationale supérieure d’art de Cergy, Cergy Pontoise, France

2004 L’attractivité télévisuelle et sa manipulation par des dispositifs interactifs.n Université de Poitiers/La Rochelle - École Supérieure de l’Image de Poitiers et Angoulême, France

2004 Séminaire Explorer la mémoire : Art/ Cognition / Technologie / Handicap, Association Cypres - Marseille, France